Trupa Trupa Releases Single, “To Me”

Gdansk, Poland post-punk-psych band Trupa Trupa announce their third LP Jolly New Songs. Today, they release the first single “To Me” via The Quietus, who writes, “Entitled Jolly New Songs, the album sees the band gunning for an overtly more triumphant tone than previous offerings. “To Me” was inspired by the poetry and legacy of poet Walt Whitman. BBC Radio is currently spinning the track as well. “To Me” gives a good taste of what to expect off the full

Nothing hurts harder than a surprise ending, and the title track of this album has a real face-slap of one. One minute
you’re in bliss, carried away in a crescendo of spine-tingling post-rock guitars and soft, wordless oohs, the next you’re through – the song’s out the door, down the street, pulling away from the curb and into a new life. The overall tone of Jolly New Song is so anthemic and – for this band – uncharacteristically triumphant, only makes having the rug pulled out from under you like this seem so much more cruel, so much more funny. Perhaps the harder the fall is, the more you have to laugh.

Trupa Trupa are sodden in a particularly cryptic kind of gallows humour. This isn’t just down to some glitch in translation – it could be in part due to the band’s art-rock origins and because their singer and guitarist, Grzegorz Kwiatkowski is an award-winning poet in Poland (incidentally, Trupa Trupa themselves have been shortlisted for the Polish equivalent of the Mercury Music Prize). The band’s name in English roughly translates to Corpse Corpse, which sounds like the punchline to some inscrutable gothic joke. You can dance to this album – check out the to-die-for funk groove that propels the Can-like “Falling.” You can trip out to it – check out the psychedelic meltdown that mutates the Wurlitzer fairground music of “Only Good Weather” into something dark and psyche-scarring.

Jolly New Songs comes heavily anticipated after their 2015 full length Headache that was released to raves from The
Quietus, KEXP, and LA Times. The record will be released via Ici d’ailleurs (Yann Tiersen, Matt Elliott/The Third Eye Foundation, Stefan Wesołowski), and Blue Tapes and X-Ray Records (Jute Gyte, Tashi Dorji, Mats Gustafsson, Katie Gately) with american distribution via Forced Exposure. Jolly New Songs was recorded at Dickie Dreams studio in Gdansk, Poland, and produced by Michał Kupicz (recording, mixing and mastering). It is scheduled to release October 27, 2017.

02.08 – Wrocław, Wyspa Tamka
03.08 – Warsaw, Lado w Mieście
04.08 – Katowice, OFF Festival
12.08 – Łowicz, Ł Festiwal
02.09 – London, The Lexington
09.09 – Vilnius, What’s Next in Music?
06.10 – Gdańsk, Klub ŻAK
27.10 – Nantes, Festival SOY
28.10 – Vendome, Rockomotives Festival

01. Against Breaking Heart of a Breaking Heart Beauty
02. Coffin
03. Falling
04. Mist
05. Jolly New Song
06. Leave It All
07. Love Supreme
08. Never Forget
09. None of Us
10. Only Good Weather
11. To Me


Trupa Trupa are Grzegorz Kwiatkowski (voc, guitar), Tomek Pawluczuk (drums), Wojtek Juchniewicz (voc, guitar) and
Rafał Wojczal (keys, guitar). In 2015 the band was signed by Blue Tapes and X-Ray Records (Tashi Dorji, Mats
Gustafsson, Katie Gately, Father Murphy), the result of which was “Headache”, a critically acclaimed album released on CD and cassette. In October 2016, “Headache Remastered” on vinyl and CD was re-released by the French label Ici d’ailleurs (Yann Tiersen, Matt Elliott/The Third Eye Foundation and Stefan Wesołowski). In autumn the band will release a new album called “Jolly New Songs”. The record will be an international collaboration between Blue Tapes and X-Ray Records and Ici d’ailleurs.

Source- Tell All Your Friends PR

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s